Just dabbling in reading

As an avid reader, I was shocked to read a newspaper article that advised that 400,000 New Zealand adults hadn’t read a book in 2016.  I was gobsmacked!  To me, there’s nothing better than a book to escape into.  My preference is fiction, but I like a good non-fiction read too.

I track the books I’ve read in my journal and I’ve read 20 books so far this year – that’s a little low for me, and I do feel like I haven’t been reading as much as I should (perhaps reading too many articles and websites on the iPad!) but it’s still just under 3 per month.  My goal is to read another 20 before the year is out.

My three favourite reads this year have been Lyrebird by Celia Ahern; 10 Things I Learned About Love by Sarah Butler (not as schmaltzy as it sounds) and The Little Breton Bistro by Nina George.  My best non-fiction read so far has been by Kiwi Lotta Dann with her book Mrs D is Going Within.

What have been your favourite books to read – do you have any recommendations?  How many books have you read this year?

(by the way the survey included books read on e-readers, so not just “book” books!).

img_0680

3 responses to “Just dabbling in reading

  1. It’s amazing how many people don’t read books. I have discovered however, that short stories seem to be popular. I recently released my own collection of short stories and found that men who never read full length novels have been the ones who have bought and read my collection. Amazing. As for your question, I loved All the Light we cannot see by Anthony Doer, Reckoning by Magda Szubanski and The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood and highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

