Zaffron

Work, eat, sleep.  That feels like life at the moment.  The only plus is that daylight savings means the day seems a little longer and I’m not coming home in the dark.  Very little to blog about on the whole.  Last night though the “eat” in my work, eat, sleep was more than just my own cooking.

Seven of us ventured out to Zaffron, a thai and vietnamese restaurant in Beckenham.  I always love a good thai restaurant and now I have another to add to the list to recommend to others.  The restaurant itself is nice and big, airy with light walls and lots of windows.  It’s not overtly decorated in any particular style.

The thing that sets Zaffron apart from other similar restaurants is their blended wine mix.  They blend wines to match the heat/flavours of your meal.  They offer four blends – mild, medium, spicy and very spicy.  As it had been a very hot day I actually chose a rose to have with my meal (it tends to go well with asian as it’s soft enough if you’re needing a white match yet enough flavour from the fruit if you want something with a bit more to it.

Three of my friends however, chose the medium blend.  I had a wee sniff and it did have a fabulous nose and all three enjoyed it.  I’m likely to return here for a meal again so next time I’m going to go for a blend, as it’s a great concept.

Anyway, to the food.  Absolutely wonderful.  There were a couple of starters ordered – a mix of fresh and fried spring rolls, however most of us decided just to go for mains and six of us followed with desserts.

I went for the Spicy Thai Noodle with Basil, chicken.  It was divine.  I had been advised the noodles were quite spicy and they were, but the kick to the noodles didn’t overwhelm the rest of the dish.  I was very pleased I stuck to my choice after querying how spicy the noodles were.  Other choices included a Laksa (photo missing, sorry!) Massaman Curry, a Pad Thai, Wok Fried Spicy Thai Herbs, Vietnamese Vermicelli Noodles and Black Pepper Stir Fry.

Every plate was clean except mine… it wasn’t the hugest serving ever but I did feel very full so had to leave a little on my plate.  In fact the serving sizes really did seem perfect.  I shouldn’t have had a share of the spring rolls first!

Of course dessert time came around and they were very cheap!  Desserts often average $14-15 in Christchurch, so it was refreshing to see a $4 Creme Caramel (vietnamese style) and a $6 ice-cream sundae along with a Tiramisu and a Brownie option.  Four Creme Caramels were ordered and two sundaes.  Sometimes a simple dessert is the best when you’ve had such amazing flavours for your main.

All up, my meal cost me $34.50 – that included a glass of Jules Taylor Rose (yum!), my main and a dessert.

It was a very affordable night out, with fabulous food and very good service.  The only downside is it can be a bit noisy.  There was a birthday party going on – for an 80 year old! It was quieter when that group went, but hey, I hope we’ve got that same energy and noise when we’re all that age too!

Vermicilli noodles

Vermicilli noodles

Pad Thai

Pad Thai

Wassermann Curry

Wassermann Curry

Black Pepper Stir Fry

Black Pepper Stir Fry

Spicy Noodle

Spicy Noodle

Spicy Thai Herbs

Spicy Thai Herbs

One response to “Zaffron

  1. Those photos look exquisite – very fresh and flavoursome, full of fresh ingredients. And that’s an amazingly affordable night out for such good food. I love Thai but have not heard of the ‘blended wine’ concept here. I’m sure it will eventually arrive on our shores, along with all those New Zealand wines that we’re lucky enough to have readily available here. Looks like a great night out!

Leave a Reply

