The good life…

No, I’m not self-sufficient, but some Saturdays I just sit back and appreciate that I do have a good life.  Today the sun shone bright and hot (30 degrees), my uncle surprised me with a text to meet for coffee as he’s in town, I got the washing out and dried in about two hours, I sat and read my book.  I didn’t have too much else to concern myself with today and it’s good to relax and smell the roses… which is what I did, literally, as my Jubilee rose is in full bloom. It has a gorgeous fragrance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve got a good book on the go, and I listened to a couple of BBC Jo Whiley episodes on iPlayer, catching up on the Lorde interview and the Damien Rice live session.  I’ve not been listening to the radio much this week as my nephew introduced me to Game of Thrones (I have all four seasons to watch) and I’m afraid I’m hooked!  It was too nice a day to spend in front of the screen though, so today it was music instead!

The southerly blew in late today kindly watering the garden for me, giving me yet another job off, so I decided to finish the day by cooking a healthy pizza, using a cauliflower base pizza recipe which I’ve been wanting to try for some time now.

I’m not gluten-free or anything, but I am trying to lose a bit of weight (those niggly few kilos that go on over winter) so I figured the cauliflower base would be a good option.  No carbs for this meal after all!   I do enjoy using cauliflower as a substitute for rice.  I’m not sure I’m a convert, but it was fun making it, and I’ll keep it as a back-up for my usual home-made pizza base.

Blitz the cauliflower in the food processor then cook for 8 minutes in microwave.

Blitz the cauliflower in the food processor then cook for 8 minutes in microwave.

Add grated parmesan (and herbs if you want, I missed those out)  Add a beaten egg.

Add grated parmesan (and herbs if you want, I missed those out) Add a beaten egg.

Press base onto a baking sheet/pizza tray

Press base onto a baking sheet/pizza tray

Cook in oven for about 15 minutes until golden

Cook in oven for about 15 minutes until golden

Have your ingredients on hand

Have your ingredients on hand

half / half pizza.  Basil pesto, courgette, spinach, pepper and tomato; the other side Tomato base, spinach, red onions, pepper, corn, pineapple and feta cheese

half / half pizza. Basil pesto, courgette, spinach, pepper and tomato; the other side Tomato base, spinach, red onions, pepper, corn, pineapple and feta cheese

So I feel good today, it’s been a day of Vitamin D from the sun, pleasant company, healthy food and relaxing.  Just to top it off, I downloaded Damien Rice on to the iPod.

Leave a Reply

