Fiddlesticks!

I haven’t blogged about dining much lately, which is a shame as I’ve had some lovely meals out recently but just haven’t pulled out the camera.  Therefore a handily timed jaunt to Fiddlesticks restaurant in town today will help rectify this.

Seven of us headed to this restaurant, which has been going for a few years now.  I had been planning to go for my choice of dining a couple of months ago, but was put off slightly by the somewhat eccentric sounding menu.  It all sounded fabulous, but there seemed to be some very random ingredient combinations in the meals.  Even when checking out the menu online in prep for this brunch visit, there were some examples of this.  For example the Risotto – Risotto of Saffron Braised Fennel, with broad beans, walnut mascarpone and sage.  I am all for adventure, but sometimes too many flavours overwhelm me!  Anyway, I’m pleased to say that it didn’t put me off going.

So seven of us were dining, and two went for quite typical eggs/salmon scramble type dishes from the breakfast menu.  Two chose the Zucchini and Halloumi Fritters  (one sans egg), and then one lad had the pie of the day (Mexican Beef), the other lad had the lamb sandwich and I went for the Smoked Chicken Salad.

Boring choice Susan?  Well, no, frankly it was the scrummiest thing I’ve eaten in ages.  I think I had an entire smoked chicken on the plate (I left a fair portion as I was too full), served up with a mesculine-type leaf, pears, parmesan, spicy almonds, crispy prociutto and the creamiest garlicky avocado “cream”.  There seemed to be a light lemony dressing over the salad which offset the pears, parmesan … well, actually everything.  Apart from leaving some of the chicken behind I cleaned up my plate!

Satisfied grins all round the table and plates emptied clean certified  that the others had all enjoyed their meals too.  Fiddlesticks is on the corner of Worcester Boulevard and Montreal Street.

The last time I was in the building it was Le Bon Bolli, so we’re going back a fair few years.  The new fit out is lovely – we were in one of the conservatory areas, and it was beautifully snug given the cool temperatures today.  Come summer those sliding doors will open up, as will the roof and it will be a lovely outdoor spot to eat.

Service was friendly and pretty efficient, so all round a great outing.

Tailor made crispy pie with crafted fries and pea puree

Tailor made crispy pie with crafted fries and pea puree

BBQ Lamb Sandwich, with smoked cheddar, chilli slaw and fries

BBQ Lamb Sandwich, with smoked cheddar, chilli slaw and fries

Zucchini and Haloumi Fritters (without the egg)

Zucchini and Halloumi Fritters (without the egg)

Smoked Chicken Salad, with prociutto, pear, parmesan, spicy almonds and avocado

Smoked Chicken Salad, with prociutto, pear, parmesan, spicy almonds and avocado

Leave a Reply

