Anniversary Day

In about about 6.5 hours, it will be exactly four years to the day, minute, hour  when Canterbury was rocked by a 7.1 magnitude earthquake that started a chain of aftershocks which included the catastrophic February earthquake and over two years of shakes, and shudders.  Our lives changed like nobody would predict and we live daily with the ongoing effects.  I wondered how to er… ‘celebrate’ the anniversary, and decided to look at it as positively as I could.  So, without further ado:

Things I’ve learned in the four years since 4 September 2010, 4.35am

  • My dodgy ticker can be quite strong
  • Rumbling noises can stop me in my tracks
  • It is important to have a wind up torch and spare batteries for your radio
  • Have an alternative heat source and a food kit
  • I can be very calm in the face of utter chaos
  • Although I live alone, my family are close
  • Flexibility is the new black
  • I quite like open spaces and warm sun
  • I am quite forward thinking
  • A house is bricks and mortar.  A home is where you, your loved ones and your friends are
  • I don’t have deep alliances to anything made out of brick, no matter how pretty it is/was.*
  • History is what you make of the future as well as what has happened in the past
  • I am over gravel, and uneven muddy carparks
  • We should encourage ideas outside the square
  • Cantabrians love to eat – we have more food venues than pre-quake
  • I like cool spaces like off beat alleys with bars, and remodelled warehouses**
  • Human spirit is amazing
  • If we work together, we can achieve ANYTHING
  • Insurers are not fun to deal with, but shooting the messenger never helps
  • There are a lot of good people working in all industries to bring our city back
  • Road cones are a proverbial pain in the ….
  • Always add at LEAST 10 minutes to a journey if you’re on a time deadline to cater for road diversions***
  • As well as a caring family spread around New Zealand I have the most amazing group of friends anyone could ask for here in Christchurch
  • I wouldn’t live anywhere else in New Zealand****
  • and finally, as I know everyone’s journey has been different and some have been very hard – I am very grateful as I am one of the luckier ones.

 

Footnotes:

*I would be upset if the Eiffel Tower disintegrated.

**am slightly wary if it’s a brick alley way.

***GPS or a fully charged phone are useful in these situations

****I would be tempted by a fully paid up move to Spain, however!

Basilica of the Blessed Sacrament

Basilica of the Blessed Sacrament

 

2 responses to “Anniversary Day

  1. Very strong words. I don’t know how you have all had the courage to keep re-building, especially with the two years of after-shocks. So many Aussies have friends-of-friends or relatives in Christchurch…the stories that have come out are incredibly inspirational. How much of the rebuilding has been done in the CBD area?

  2. Thanks Fiona. Rebuild seems very slow at times, but it is happening. I’ll take my camera into town over the next month as the weather warms up and the days get longer and take some snaps for the blog. From a residential perspective there are areas of the city that are still waiting and fighting for solutions, fixes etc.

Leave a Reply

