Favourite Places

It’s a year since my trip to Europe began. I was out for dinner with friends on Friday night and all of us have had international travel in the last year, some just very recently. The talk turned to photographs. Most of us haven’t managed to get around to printing and putting photos in albums, journals, frames. Discussion came up about your “top 10 photos” for a dining evening to share photos with others.

I printed 100 photos while I was in the motel for my EQ repairs, thinking it would keep me busy… but alas I struggled to put them in an album, which I wanted to double as a scrapbooking project.

Streamlining to 10 photos? I don’t know about that. Today I spent the day finally putting a photo book together on the computer. I’m sick with the start of a head cold, so wasn’t going anywhere or doing anything else. My 20 page photo book grew to 32 pages. I’m quite happy with the result, but there are so many photos missing!

It got me to thinking what would be my favourite place out of where I visited? I re-visited a few places on this trip. Of the new places, Strasbourg, Bordeaux were beautiful and Faenza had a special meaning. Of the places I’ve been, Paris, Barcelona and of course my other home, Dublin, rate as great places. “Too difficult!” I say.

The same with New Zealand. One of the most beautiful spots I’ve been to in New Zealand is Moeraki. I’d love to base myself there and write a book. However I adore Central Otago and the wine regions both there and in the Nelson area. The Coromandel is also beautiful.

Anyway, just for the blog, here are a few photos that made the book.

Trinity College

Trinity College

Le Tour Eiffel

Le Tour Eiffel

La Bicyclette!

La Bicyclette!

Courtyard within Castillo

Courtyard within Castillo

La Cite, Carcassonne

La Cite, Carcassonne

One response to “Favourite Places

  1. Love the photos 🙂 It’s great to get recommendations of places to visit in New Zealand, too. NZ is more and more on our travel list (close and affordable.) I am busting to do something with my travel photos but haven’t had a chance yet. Good to know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

