Back home

Well it’s been an exhausting couple of weeks. After surviving 5.5 weeks in a motel, moving day came last Friday. My sister flew in to give me a hand – thank goodness. Why does moving in take so much longer than moving out? 24 hrs later she’d helped me unpack half the boxes, flew out and one of my brothers flew in for the week. By the end of the weekend, we had a semblance of order – the bedrooms sleepable from Saturday night, and kitchen usable. I have no oven due to some glitch with the electrics, but at least I could put the crockpot on and make a warming homely casserole. By Tuesday night all the boxes were finally unpacked. For a single woman I have a lot of stuff! In the process of packing up I tried to declutter and took a load to the dump (4wd truck full). On return, we’ve given about 7 boxes to the Salvation Army, sold a queen sized bed and managed to declutter quite a bit! I have more space in cupboards, wardrobes and the dining room looks much better just re-arranged!

So, with any luck the electrician will be able to fix the oven tomorrow and I can get back to normal routine. Unfortunately 5.5 weeks of motel life I have put on too many kilos (nearly a kilo a week!) so the next project is to get that off. Never an easy feat in winter, but I’m determined to shift it. I’ve moved off the edge of the “healthy” BMI into the obese. While I know BMI isn’t the only thing to go on, I’m feeling sluggish and my clothes are tight… so watch this space.

Empty bedroom with new bed on floor ready to assemble

Empty bedroom with new bed on floor ready to assemble

Love my new lino in the kitchen.

Love my new lino in the kitchen.

The "yellow" is now spanish white.  Much calmer.

The “yellow” is now spanish white. Much calmer.

Such an empty lounge

Such an empty lounge

A room full of boxes

A room full of boxes

Dining/kitchen full of boxes

Dining/kitchen full of boxes

Freshly painted house

Freshly painted house

One response to “Back home

  1. I think you need a certificate after 5.5 weeks of motel living! That is hard going. So glad you are back in your house – it looks so fresh and new. Great work on the decluttering as well. Hope you are settling back in again – it is such a huge, huge job moving in and out of a house.

Leave a Reply

