Currying Favour

I’m in Wellington for a week’s break at the moment. It’s been wet and windy. Typical. However the weather forecast for Christchurch was pretty much the same, so I’m not missing out on anything, and we have had one lovely day on Tuesday – it was sunny and warm.

On Monday night, I went to a cooking class at Asiana Cooking School – thanks to my sister’s work social club organising a cooking class. What a fabulous set up – you take your BYO, have a glass of wine at the start, then watch the demonstration, cook up your dish and then sit and eat your efforts!

It was really good fun. I did a Thai cooking course a few years back and I love this sort of food – it’s usually quick and easy. I bought my Kaffir Lime Tree as a result of that course so I always had a supply of the fresh leaves. I’m on to my second tree, thanks to the snow a couple of years back. I’ve learned my lesson there – the frost cloth comes out in winter now!

Our class on Monday had us making Beef Rendang and Roti. The Roti was pre-prepared ready for us to roll out and cook due to the resting time bread needs – but we have the recipe and I can’t wait to make this again. The Beef Rendang was simple, easy and very very tasty. What a great way to spend a cold wet night. Next time I’m in Wellington we’re going to do another class! If you’re a Wellington local, check out the website for details.Asiana Cooking School

20140414_183247_resized_2

Cutting technique

Cutting technique

Getting the prep done

Getting the prep done

Everything in and simmering (mine is the closer one)

Everything in and simmering (mine is the closer one)

Finished meal plated (splashed a bit - loss of points masterchef!)

Finished meal plated (splashed a bit – loss of points masterchef!)

Leave a Reply

