The Sweet Life

I haven’t been blogging very regularly of late. There is a lot going on at the moment. I have an offer in on the Flat, I have had EQC meetings to finally get the repairs done at the house, have had double glazing put in and discovered I have a leak in the roof. I’ve done some DIY with new curtain rails after the one in my bedroom broke in half, and I’ve been window-shopping for new furniture to go in the room where the new double-glazed slider is. Alongside that work has been flat out and I’m about to have a week off, so I know the coming week will be pretty full on too! Why is it that holidays seem to make work so much busier either side of them?

First world problems, though and all that. I did realise I hadn’t done a great deal of reading and my books were due back at the library so I took the unread ones back as well as the read ones and got a fresh load out. I’m trying to lose a stubborn 5 kilos at the moment and my thoughts seem to revolve around food and all the things I shouldn’t be indulging in (chocolate, chocolate, wine and more chocolate!). I need to sort that out, as I can’t exercise at the moment – for about 3 weeks.

So what do I do? I go and get out a book called “The Sweet Life in Paris” by David Lebovitz which is a food book. Of course it is. With recipes. I’ve already drooled at the recipe index. Friends and I are heading to Kakanui for ANZAC weekend and I have found the perfect recipe to cook up for that trip “Dulche de Leche Brownies”. Well, at least by then I’ll be able to walk them off!

I’m also looking forward to reading “the Time Keeper” by Mitch Albom. I think I need this book too – the dust jacket reads “…this remarkably original tale will inspire readers everywhere to reconsider their own notions of time, how they spend it and how precious it truly is.” Amen to that. Daylight savings has ended and the days seem shorter than they really are!

This month's reads

This month’s reads

One response to “The Sweet Life

  1. Hope you have a lovely week off. I get two weeks school holidays over Easter and it’s very true that the work leading into holidays is just crazy. I’m also hoping to get some reading done – did not get even one book read in March šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

