Rock the Casbah!

Okay, so I know I’m supposed to be doing Miserly March (that’s going nearly as well as Frugal February… hah!). However on a Tuesday night I go to 1.5hr yoga class straight from work and am always STARVING afterwards!

As it’s already 8pm by the time I get home, I’m not about to cook and eat late. I try to live by the adage to not eat late at night, and I like to go to sleep around 10pm so I can get up in the mornings. I’m not an early bird, so I need this routine to make it work. Therefore, the best option for me is takeaways. The challenge is to have something healthy, after 1.5 hours of putting my body into a zen-like state, I don’t want to fill it with fatty burgers and chips.

Quite often I get a Subway. I have friends who don’t think Subway is a dinner takeout – but it works perfectly for this purpose. As I like to take lunch to work (particularly during Miserly March) Thai is sometimes an option – but it can be a bit pricey. I often cook thai based meals too, so I usually opt for the bought version with friends. Usually good value for money though, as my local does a great basil & chilli chicken with rice for $12.50.

So tonight, with the rain falling and it being rather cold (goodbye summer), I went to Casbah. It’s a Morrocon outlet in Sydenham, next to a Noodle House, Hell’s Pizza and Sydenham Park. You can eat in at Casbah – it caters for around 25 sit-in guests, but it’s very basic as their main custom is takeout. Still, I have been there for a great cheap and cheerful dinner with friends (alcohol free, but we had plans for later, so that’s okay).

For $11.00 I bought a regular sized Grilled Chicken. There is enough food for 2 in the regular takeout – 3 serves if you’re like me! You get a choice of 3 salads with this – and they have seven salads options – with greek salad being one, then various grains, e.g. barley, couscous, rice… Tonight I went for Grilled Roast Veges, Israeli Couscous and the Barley Salad. It’s topped with a decent helping of the Grilled Chicken and a huge dollop of tzatziki sauce.

Casbah also do Souvlakis, and other grilled meat options, along with falafel. They have a tiny range of Turkish delight and baklava for a sweet touch afterwards.

This place is fabulous and I haven’t been there for ages, so it was a good choice tonight, and a reminder that I should visit a bit more often.

Grilled Chicken Salad

Grilled Chicken Salad

2 responses to “Rock the Casbah!

  1. We do Subway for dinner as well – it’s always filling and slightly better choice than a burger place. How good does that grilled chicken salad look 🙂

  2. I find Subway a pretty good choice for takeout for one or two – gets expensive otherwise, like all takeout. It’s a healthy option with your salad choices too. The grilled chicken salad though rocked Subway out of the box – this place is so good and I’ve berated myself for not using it more often, particularly as there’s enough for the next day which makes it quite budget friendly – as it’s cheaper than my thai options.

Leave a Reply

