Oh the written word

One of the things I have spent a lot of my life doing, is reading.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAll my life I have been an avid reader.  I suppose when you spend a lot of time as a child in bed sick, or restricted it’s one of the things you do.  Books have always been an important part of our house and my growing up.  I am a fast reader, mainly… it’s nothing for me to get about 6 books out of the library in a month and get through them all.  It can depend on the topic, the book, my mood and other things… but as a rule I gobble up the written word.

I’ll read fiction, non-fiction, travel books, self-improvement books… on my bookshelf I have classics and old text books.  I studied Medieval English Literature and still own a copy of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASometimes, you want something light… like in the summer time – my book list this month is pretty much on the “light” end of the story side.  In this pile of books I have already completed Danielle Hawkin’s “Chocolate Cake for Breakfast” (very light, but enjoyable chick-lit tale of a  kiwi vet and an All Black), and  Lisa Jewell’s rewarding read “The House We Grew Up In”.  This was a great book.  It was character-driven and an absorbing tale of a family and how it went from a joyful tight-knit family to a dysfunctional one.  What tears us apart also binds us.

I’m currently reading Kate Atkinson’s “Life After Life”.  I’m only 69 pages in, but so far so good. I was going to join back in to one of those links – like Teaser Tuesday which I did last year, or The Year in Books, but have decided this year I will just read as I see fit, and if it’s worth telling you about… I will.  I’d be interested to know what you are reading though.  Often the best books are ones suggested to you.  On that note, the above-mentioned Lisa Jewell’s website has provided me with a number of authors and books over the years on her suggested book lists.

Happy reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

