I feel blessed

I was going to blog about my Christmas break, but that’s so last year!  haha.  Yes indeed, this is my first blog for 2014.  I’m not really one for new year’s resolutions – I tend to set goals around the time of my birthday, if anything.  I do, however, always like looking back at the year that has been and 2013, overall, was pretty damned good.

When I flick back my journal I do see a lot of entries telling me to “eat better”, “save money” and “exercise”… a recurring theme.  But all in all, even those things were managed quite well – I’ve maintained a pretty good weight after losing 8kg the year before… I saved enough money for my trip to Europe (and then came home with some money!) and apart from the last few weeks of the year when my knee played up, I kept up with the yoga and basic exercises I’m allowed to do.

I’ve got some lovely photos pinned in my journal from a weekend at Motunau (gorgeous bach) when we went up that way for the Winery Tour gig. I had enough decent veges in my garden to eat my own homegrown corn and make chutney from my tomatoes (fingers crossed for this year’s crop).  I became a little crafty with crochet and bead wire jewellery.  Work was a busy and interesting year.  I’ve had lots of changes at work in the last three years, and I’m lucky that I enjoy my place of work so much.  I did, however ADORE my month away from work when we hit Europe.  Catching up with folk in Ireland, and just sampling the delights of the places I went to was just brilliant.  I didn’t catch the travel bug as such, but it reminded me there’s a lot to see in the world, and I’d like to think the next trip won’t be 10 years in the making.

I’ve had some great times with my family.  Travelling with them, visiting them, and them coming to visit me.  I also have a wonderful group of friends, that are loyal and caring.  We’ve shared some good times this year and I can only hope that this year brings as much fun with them.

So, I do feel blessed.  While each year brings its own challenges, 2013 has been pretty kind to me all in all.  I am looking forward to 2014 and will see what it brings.  As I said at the start, I don’t tend to make new year’s resolutions.  I do, however intend to do one thing….

Play this more!

Happy new year everyone.

One response to “I feel blessed

  1. That sounds like such a fantastic year. I thinking “playing an instrument more” has to be one of the best New Year’s resolutions you could make. I read somewhere else about making resolutions on birthdays – it sounds like a great idea. I’m so exhausted from Christmas that I haven’t caught up yet and made resolutions!

Leave a Reply

