One-day Weekend garden update

I’m on a one-day weekend this weekend.  The downside is the shortness, the upside is the 3 day weekend next week to make up for it, and the fact that you cram so much into your one day that you’re productive anyway!

Today was a glorious day and I was taking ownership of a bed, upsizing to a Queen after years of a double.  About time, some might say!  So 3 loads of washing were done and on the line by 10am.  While outside I realised I should really get on to the bird netting for the raspberries as they are starting to flower.  A quick grocery shop so my chores were done and out I went into the garden and even had to get the hammer out to nail some netting hooks into posts, fences etc – whatever was handy.  I gave myself a pat on the back for not hammering my fingers or thumb.

After the bed was delivered it was time to get back into the garden and plant a courgette.  All that remains to plant in the garden for summer now is some corn, which I will do in one of the next two weekends, both of which are long ones for me.  I didn’t want to plant the corn too early as we’ve had some cool nights and I’ve been nervous enough about the tomato plant.

Anyway, I’m rather pleased with the garden now.  It’s looking good, and as long as my seeds of radish, carrot and spinach take off, I’ll be set for a while.  There was still time for a leisurely sit in the sunshine before watering it and coming in for the day.   My productive day has ended by baking some chewy peanut butter chocolate cookies for the week ahead.  Next goal: healthy snacks and food all week!  I’ll see how I go on that one!

Courgette!

Courgette!

Tomato and basil obscured by my garlic!

Tomato and basil obscured by my garlic!

Raspberries - Netting is up - cat still managed to creep under the lemon tree for a shady spot though!

Raspberries – Netting is up – cat still managed to creep under the lemon tree for a shady spot though!

Leave a Reply

