Weekend work

The empty strawberry patch

The empty strawberry patch

It’s the long weekend, and Labour Weekend is traditionally one to get out in the garden.  I have been working away at the forest of garden weeds since returning from Europe, and had managed a pretty good job of clearing most of the garden before my brother arrived for a week’s break.  He’s one of those people that doesn’t sit around and rest, and he was out in the garden clearing the last of the weeds (about half the strawberry patch’s worth!) and doing some general tidying around the section for me,  something I’m extremely grateful for.  He also dealt to the soil – getting compost and fertilisers etc and building up the two raised beds back to a point that will be usable.

Planted strawberries

Planted strawberries

The long weekend also brought a visit from my lovely cousin, and we had a fabulous 30 or so hours together before she flew off to see her mum for the rest of the weekend.  It has been quite a good weekend so far, apart from the non-stop winds!  Nor’westers were forecast and the winds have been wild, but rather cold (it’s usually our warm wind).  The winds were such that the FESTA parade last night was cancelled.  We had planned to go after dinner, but changed plans to go for an after dinner coffee somewhere warm instead.

Therefore it came that this afternoon I’m finally back at the house, guests gone.  Time for me to do the traditional labour weekend thing and do some planting.  Five new strawberry plants are now in the strawberry patch.  I’ll pick up a few more plants tomorrow when I pick up a tomato plant and the intention is to get some carrots and radish planted too.   Any suggestions for easy care/grow options for the garden?  It’s a little early for some things.  My plan is, generally, tomatoes, carrots, courgette, corn.  Things I eat – for a start!  I’ll also attempt some herbs in my pots – I say attempt as I plant herbs regularly and they start well and then fail dismally.  Basil, thyme and italian parsley are definitely on the agenda though.

I’ll keep you posted!

Ready for veges!

Ready for veges!

To finish off the post, the peonies are in bloom/bud and I had to include one of those “perfect bud” shots from one of the rosh bushes.

Rosebud

Rosebud

Peonie

Peonie

Happy gardening Labour Weekend, everyone!

3 responses to “Weekend work

  1. I think you can sprinkle paprika or cayenne pepper on the soil and that puts the cats off! I haven’t really tried it – my cat has a mind of her own!

  2. Pingback: Barren Strawberry | Find Me A Cure·

Leave a Reply

