Dublin

It’s 10 years since I lived in Dublin. I wasn’t sure what I’d find returning to the city I called home. Recession has hit the country and from afar the stories are grim. Indeed Ireland has changed and the stories of recession are true, but one thing hasn’t changed and that’s the heart of the people and the spirit in this great city is still standing proud.

The city itself has changed very little. There are a few new bridges and buildings but it was heartening to see so many things are still there.

Taking my family around the city’s centre I felt as proud of the place I’d lived in as if I was still a citizen.

Of course the best thing about the trip was seeing friends and catching up with people that I’ve not seen in a decade. The friendships I made will last a lifetime despite the distance and that is what makes a home… The people around you.

Leave a Reply

