Sweet Anticipation…

I have been invited to a friend’s to dinner tonight, for a Roast and Rugby.  I’ve been asked to bring something sweet.  I must admit I tend to resort to my never fail chocolate brownies but I wanted to do something a little different, so today I’ve made my own Salted Caramel Sauce to go with Ruth’s Brownies and Vanilla Ice-cream.  Should do the trick, no?

So, firstly I found a fabulous Salted Caramel Sauce recipe on the  52 Kitchen Adventures website.  Lots of other great recipes on here too!  It sounded too easy to be true, but judging by the comments, it works, so I’ve had a go.

Then it was time to make the brownies.  When I lived in Dublin, my flatmate Ruth whipped these up with great regularity, often after a night out!  She gave me the simple recipe and “Ruth’s Brownies” have become world-famous in my circle of friends.  It’s such an easy recipe, and makes gorgeous brownies.  The trick is using a decent chocolate.  I always use Whittakers Dark Ghana 72% for mine, don’t go less than 60% cocoa solids if you want a good brownie!

So, I’m ready to go – I’ll try and remember to take a photo when it’s all plated up tonight!  Oh, and GO CRUSADERS!!!!

Leave a Reply

