Sunday Soup and Songs

My mum used to say that winter really arrived 3 weeks after the shortest day.  Well, we’re kind of there this weekend and it truly has been a wintry weekend.  I spent most of yesterday in bed with a migraine and today it is a freezing cold day with rain, hail, sleet and sun taking their turn lashing the house.  It really is good hibernating weather, but I didn’t have an excuse to harbour in bed today.  No, instead I’ve turned the lounge into a laundry, and I’ve been domesticated making my Carrot & Cashew nut soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s a gorgeous colour, don’t you think?  Quite tasty too – I used Chilli & Lime flavoured cashew nuts.  They don’t overpower the soup – just give it a little lift.  I could add coriander and a bit more chilli really… but I went low key today, because that’s the kind of day it is.

So I’ve been reading my book “The Railway Man’s Wife” which I’m enjoying, and I had a nana-nap I admit.  I’ve also been listening to more sounds.  I was very excited to see Tired Pony are about to release another album.  Gary Lightbody is a genius and I love Snow Patrol.  His side-venture Tired Pony is great and I can’t wait to get the album.  In the meantime I’ve been listening to the old one again.  Although it doesn’t look like he’s featuring this time, one of the great collaborations on the first album was Tom Smith, from the Editors.  Tom Smith, IMHO, has one of the best voices in music today.  To prove my point I’m posting up two links – the first one being his Tired Pony song, The Good Book, and the second a cover I stumbled over just in the last 24 hours while I was keeping warm at the computer!  His collaboration with Andy Burrows also brought about a great Christmas album, with a song to rival “Fairytale of New York” as best Christmas song yet… “When The Thames Froze”.

What do you think?  The Editors also have a new album out called The Weight of Your Love.  Check them out.

Leave a Reply

