List 21 – Gig’s I Want To See

I’ve been listening to highlights of Glastonbury on the inter web.  It’s not something I managed to get to when I did my OE.  I did get to a couple of festivals, including the Galway Festival and Witnness (spelled that way as sponsored by Guinness) which has now morphed into Oxygen at Punchestown Racecourse and I managed to get to Slane Castle to see the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  I managed to get lost at Slane, so none of us saw the Foo Fighters who were one of the support acts… as everyone was looking for me and me looking for them!  I’ve never lived it down, and have seen the Foos twice since and both times were reminded of this event.

I digress.   This week’s list is because Glasto seemed to have lots of “old” muso’s.  Not just the Rolling Stones.  And the Manics were in Auckland  (and on XFactor) and it took me back to Witnness where I saw them.  So it made me think. Who would I want to see … past or present acts…. at a festival.  It’s a pretty diverse list… and does include some acts I’ve seen but would love to see again… so put them across different stages and tents in your musical mind!

  • The Who
  • St Etienne
  • Duran Duran (hey day only)
  • Elbow
  • Christy Moore
  • Billy Bragg
  • The Pixies
  • Portishead
  • Massive Attack
  • Chemical Brothers
  • Fat Boy Slim
  • The Frames
  • KT Tunstall
  • Bon Iver
  • Ellie Goulding
  • Emeli Sande
  • The Smiths
  • The Cure
  • The Jesus & Mary Chain (okay, showing my slightly gothic roots here with the last couple…)
  • Muse
  • Snow Patrol
  • Paloma Faith
  • Belly
  • Damien Rice
  • Coldplay
  • Shihad or The Adults.  Jon Toogood is a festival must!
  • Split Enz (around the Enz of an Era time)

I KNOW.  U2 aren’t on the list.  I surprise myself with that.  I don’t see them as a festival band, even though some of the bands on my list are pretty huge.  This could be due to seeing U2 several times on their tours, and having seeing some of the bands above (Snow Patrol, Coldplay, for example) at festivals when they were lesser known.  Oh,  sorry about that, don’t you just hate people who say “I knew/liked them before they were famous”?

2 responses to “List 21 – Gig’s I Want To See

    • Not that I’m aware, if anything they should be recording! I’ve seen them in every tour in NZ except their very first as I was too young to be allowed to go!

Leave a Reply

