#52 Lists – List 18: People I Would Like to Make Me a Mixed CD

You’ll know by now that I love music.  I googled some lists for inspiration and saw the above topic.  I didn’t even bother reading theirs (how rude!)…. I just started thinking about who I would want to put a CD together for me.  I’m a huge U2 fan, but no, believe it or not, I wouldn’t want Bono or any of the other U2 lads to do this.  I’m always keen to find new music and when I trawled through the names of artists I listen to, I figured the following people would give me the most diverse CDs to enjoy.

  • Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol)
  • Billy Bragg
  • Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters)
  • K T Tunstall
  • Paul Weller
  • Kristin Hersh (Throwing Muses)
  • Elizabeth Fraser (Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil… amongst others)
  • Barnaby Weir (for a good assortment of kiwi music)
  • and finally, Dermot O’Leary who would put together a list of very cool, acoustic “sad” songs – he’s partial to them on his radio show!

I was trying to think of someone “old school” and Paul Weller is about as old school as it gets on my list, but for a bit of culture I think Stephen Fry would put together a great classical album!

Oh, and I know. It wouldn’t be a Mixed CD anymore – they’re as last century as a Mixed Tape (dinosaur).  It would of course be a “playlist” that they would “share”.  Sigh. The technology might change but the motivation never does!  🙂

Leave a Reply

