#52 Lists – List 14 Childhood Books

I recently shared a picture of The Elves & The Shoemaker on my facebook page, as it was a book I loved as a child. It got me thinking for this week’s list – favourite books from childhood to early teens.

  • The Berenstein Bears
  • Richard Scarry
  • A Cat Called Whiskers
  • The Rabbits’ Wedding*
  • Winnie The Pooh (etc)
  • Noddy
  • Famous Five
  • Rupert The Bear
  • Milly Molly Mandy
  • Nancy Drew
  • Swallows & Amazons
  • Anne of Green Gables (etc)
  • (Nurse) Sue Barton books
  • Little Women

There are definitely some “baby-childhoood” books above, and some pre-teens … you can see the reading age change!  These are the books that stand out in my memory though, and I am proud to say I still have a copy of Berenstein Bears – Bears in the Wood, and my original A Cat Called Whiskers.  We were taught to take care of books and I can remember getting quite a telling off the one time I scribbled over a precious book.  Not having fantastic health as a child, I had a wicked load of books as a child to help while away the time in bed – an amazing collection of little Golden books, and the 3-d covered ones.  A lot of them were thrown out when we moved to Christchurch when I was 15, which is why the few that were still floating around mum and dad’s when we cleaned out the house, are precious!

* The Rabbits Wedding was controversial… the cover kind of indicates why in the 1970s it might have been seen as ground-breaking.  It’s a beautiful story and beautifully illustrated!

The Rabbits' Wedding

The Rabbits’ Wedding

Leave a Reply

